If you are reading this, you are probably past the franchise-expo stage. You have requested FDDs from both Kiddie Academy and Primrose Schools, or you are about to. You have seen the top-line revenue figures on aggregator sites and noticed they look close enough to make the decision hard.
They are not as close as they look.
The two brands sit in the same industry — early-childhood education — but differ on investment range, fee structure, profit transparency, territory protection, and ownership model. Those differences produce materially different cash-flow profiles, debt-service requirements, and risk exposures for the buyer.
What follows is a line-by-line comparison using each brand’s most recent FDD. Every figure is sourced, every difference is dollarized where possible, and neither brand is positioned as the better choice. The right answer depends on who you are, what you can invest, and how you think about risk.
For the full financial detail behind each brand, the standalone analyses are here: Kiddie Academy FDD financial breakdown and Primrose FDD analysis. This piece is the overlay — the comparison you cannot get from reading either one alone.
Revenue: 23% Higher at Primrose, But Read the Denominator
Primrose Schools reports average gross revenue of $2,728,570 across 499 facilities. Kiddie Academy reports mature average gross revenue of $2,193,070 across 280 academies that have been open 24 months or longer.
The gap is $535,500, or roughly 23%. On the surface, Primrose wins the revenue comparison cleanly.
Read the denominator before you anchor on that number.
- Primrose’s figure covers 499 facilities. That is a larger, more mature system with greater geographic spread. A larger sample smooths outliers, but it also includes a wider range of market conditions.
- Kiddie Academy’s figure excludes academies open less than 24 months. The 280-academy sample only includes stabilised locations. Kiddie Academy separately discloses a ramping average of $1,618,629 for 21 academies in months 12–24 — a figure Primrose does not break out.
- Primrose discloses quartile distribution. Top quartile averages $3.81M; bottom quartile averages $1.79M. That is a $2.02M spread between the top and bottom of the same system.
The Primrose top quartile at $3.81M represents a genuinely higher ceiling than anything in Kiddie Academy’s disclosed data. But the Primrose bottom quartile at $1.79M is below Kiddie Academy’s mature average. A buyer evaluating revenue should model the distribution, not the average.
Neither average tells you what your location will generate. Market density, tuition rates, local competition, and enrollment velocity are location-specific. The FTC Franchise Rule requires these disclosures but not projections — that modelling is on you.
Profit Disclosure: One Number vs None
This is the single most consequential difference in the two FDDs, and most comparison sites skip it entirely.
Kiddie Academy discloses gross profit. The 2025 FDD reports a mature average gross profit of $559,914, representing a 25.5% gross margin on $2,193,070 in revenue. This figure comes from Item 19 and covers 280 academies open 24 months or longer.
Primrose discloses no profit figure. The Primrose FDD provides revenue data across 499 facilities but does not include a gross profit, operating profit, or any margin disclosure.
Why this matters: revenue without a margin tells you the size of the business. Revenue with a margin tells you what the business keeps. A franchise generating $2.7M with a 15% margin produces less gross profit than one generating $2.2M at 25.5%. You cannot know which scenario applies to Primrose because the number is not disclosed.
This is not an accusation. Franchisors are not required to disclose profit in Item 19. Many choose not to, precisely because profit figures invite scrutiny that revenue figures do not. But the absence is itself a data point. A buyer comparing the two brands has one profit figure and one blank — and must decide whether to fill that blank with assumptions, industry benchmarks, or conversations with existing franchisees during validation calls.
The $559,914 gross profit at Kiddie Academy is gross, not net. It does not subtract royalties, brand fund contributions, debt service, or owner compensation. But it gives you a starting point for a pro forma. Without a comparable figure from Primrose, the buyer is building one side of the spreadsheet on disclosed data and the other on estimates.
For more on what Kiddie Academy’s gross profit figure does and does not include, see the FDD financial breakdown.
The Fee Load Gap: 2–4 Points That Add Up to $44K–$88K Per Year
Franchise fees are disclosed as percentages. Buyers read them as percentages. The dollar difference at actual revenue levels is where the comparison becomes concrete.
Kiddie Academy: 9% total fee load.
- 7% royalty on gross revenue
- 2% Brand Building Fund (BBF)
- No additional advertising co-op or local spend requirement
Primrose Schools: 11–13% total fee load.
- 7% royalty on gross revenue
- 2% brand fund
- 2–4% mandatory local advertising expenditure
The local advertising layer is where the gap opens. Kiddie Academy’s 9% is a ceiling. Primrose’s floor is 11%, and the contractual range extends to 13% depending on the local advertising requirement the franchisor sets.
What the gap costs in dollars
At Kiddie Academy’s mature average revenue of $2,193,070:
- 9% fee load: $197,376/year
- 11% fee load (Primrose floor): $241,238/year
- 13% fee load (Primrose ceiling): $285,099/year
- Annual gap: $43,862 to $87,723
Over a 15-year franchise term, that gap compounds to $657,923 to $1,315,840 in cumulative fee savings at the lower fee load — before any time-value adjustment.
At Primrose’s higher revenue base of $2,728,570, the dollar amounts are larger on both sides, but the percentage gap remains the same.
A buyer who models fee load as a flat percentage and moves on is leaving the most consequential operating-cost comparison in the FDD unexamined. The detailed breakdown is in the Kiddie Academy fee comparison analysis.
Investment Range: Half the Entry Point, Different Capital Structure
The Item 7 initial investment ranges set the floor for what each brand requires before the doors open.
| Kiddie Academy | Primrose Schools | |
|---|---|---|
| Item 7 range | $590,000 – $1,010,000 | $742,900 – $1,525,000 |
| Franchise fee | $70,000 – $150,000 | Included in Item 7 range |
| Minimum entry | $590,000 | $742,900 |
| Maximum entry | $1,010,000 | $1,525,000 |
Kiddie Academy’s minimum investment is 21% below Primrose’s minimum. At the high end, Kiddie Academy’s maximum is 34% below Primrose’s maximum.
This is not a quality indicator. The investment range reflects real estate strategy, build-out requirements, geographic cost variation, and the franchisor’s facility standards. Primrose typically requires ground-up construction to proprietary architectural specifications. Kiddie Academy offers both build and lease pathways, which produces the wider — and lower — range.
What this means for financing
Most franchise buyers finance through SBA 7(a) loans, which cap at $5M and require the borrower to inject 10–20% equity. The equity injection on a $742,900 Primrose build is $74,290 to $148,580 at minimum. On a $590,000 Kiddie Academy build, it is $59,000 to $118,000.
The debt-service coverage ratio (DSCR) requirements are where the investment range interacts with the revenue and profit disclosures above. A lender underwriting a Primrose location must model debt service against revenue alone — there is no franchisor-disclosed profit to anchor the DSCR. A lender underwriting a Kiddie Academy location has the $559,914 gross profit figure as a starting point. Capital advisors such as Lendesca can model the debt service at each investment level and map the financing path for either brand.
The lower entry point at Kiddie Academy does not make it the safer investment. It makes it accessible to a wider buyer pool, including first-time franchisees who cannot meet Primrose’s capital requirements. Whether that accessibility translates to better outcomes depends on the operator, not the fee.
Territory: Conditional vs Defined
Territory protection determines whether you operate with geographic exclusivity or compete with your own brand.
Kiddie Academy: conditional exclusivity. Kiddie Academy grants an exclusive territory based on a defined radius, but exclusivity is conditional. If the population within a 1-mile radius of the academy exceeds 125,000, the franchisor reserves the right to place additional units in the area. In dense urban and suburban markets — which are often the highest-revenue markets — this protection may not apply.
Primrose Schools: defined geographic territory. Primrose grants an exclusive territory based on a defined geographic area. The boundaries are set in the franchise agreement and are not population-contingent.
The practical difference: a Kiddie Academy franchisee in a fast-growing suburban corridor could see a second academy open within a mile as the area’s population crosses the 125,000 threshold. A Primrose franchisee in the same corridor has a fixed boundary that does not shift with population growth.
This distinction matters most in high-growth Sun Belt and exurban markets where population can cross the threshold within the franchise term. A buyer evaluating Kiddie Academy in a market approaching 125,000 population should model the scenario where exclusivity lapses. The full analysis of how this threshold works and which markets are at risk is in the Kiddie Academy territory analysis.
For context on how Primrose’s territory protections compare to the broader childcare franchise market, see Primrose market competition.
Ownership Structure: Family vs Private Equity
The entity that owns the franchisor determines the strategic horizon, the capital structure, and the likelihood of system-level changes during your franchise term.
Kiddie Academy: family-owned, third generation. Kiddie Academy is owned by Essential Brands, controlled by the Miller family, now in its third generation of ownership. Family-owned franchisors tend toward longer strategic horizons, slower fee increases, and continuity in operational philosophy. They are also less likely to pursue rapid unit growth at the expense of existing franchisee economics.
Primrose Schools: private equity, recently acquired. Primrose was acquired by Taurus Capital Partners in March 2026 for approximately $2 billion, following ownership by Roark Capital Group. Private equity ownership typically brings a 5–7 year hold period, during which the PE firm seeks to increase EBITDA — through unit growth, fee optimization, cost reduction, or some combination. This can benefit franchisees (through brand investment and operational upgrades) or pressure them (through fee increases, mandatory remodels, or accelerated development requirements).
Neither ownership model is inherently better. But the incentive structures are different, and a buyer signing a 15-year franchise agreement should understand what those incentives mean for the system during the hold period.
Key questions for the buyer: Will Primrose’s fee load increase under PE ownership? Will Kiddie Academy invest in brand modernisation at the pace a PE-backed competitor would? If Taurus sells Primrose in 2031–2033, the next buyer resets the clock on strategic priorities — Kiddie Academy’s ownership transition happens generationally, not transactionally. These are answerable from validation calls with existing franchisees, not from the FDD.
Which Buyer Fits Which Brand
This is not a recommendation. It is a mapping of buyer profiles to brand characteristics, based on the data above.
The Kiddie Academy buyer profile
- Available capital: $590K–$1M total investment capacity. The lower entry point makes Kiddie Academy accessible to buyers who cannot meet Primrose’s minimum.
- Fee sensitivity. A buyer who models ongoing costs carefully and values a lower, predictable fee load. The 2–4 point gap compounds over a 15-year term.
- Values profit transparency. A buyer who wants a franchisor-disclosed gross profit figure to anchor their pro forma rather than estimating from revenue alone.
- Comfortable with conditional territory. Either operating in a market below 125,000 population or willing to accept the risk of encroachment in a dense market.
- Preference for family-owned stability. A buyer who values continuity and is less concerned about brand-level investment acceleration.
The Primrose buyer profile
- Available capital: $750K–$1.5M+ total investment capacity. The higher investment range requires more equity and more borrowing capacity.
- Revenue ceiling priority. A buyer who is optimising for top-line potential and sees the $3.81M top quartile as the target, not the average.
- Values defined territory protection. A buyer entering a high-growth market who needs geographic exclusivity that does not erode with population growth.
- Comfortable with PE ownership dynamics. A buyer who understands private equity hold periods and is prepared for potential system-level changes.
- Comfortable building a pro forma without disclosed profit. A buyer with enough industry experience or advisor support to estimate margins independently.
Neither profile is wrong
The comparison is not which brand is better. It is which set of trade-offs matches your capital, your risk tolerance, and your operating philosophy.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Kiddie Academy or Primrose more profitable?
Kiddie Academy discloses a mature average gross profit of $559,914 (25.5% of revenue). Primrose does not disclose any profit figure. Without comparable data from Primrose, the question cannot be answered from public FDD information alone. A buyer should ask existing Primrose franchisees about their margins during validation calls.
Why is Primrose’s investment so much higher?
Primrose typically requires ground-up construction to proprietary architectural standards. Kiddie Academy offers both build and lease pathways, which produces a lower and wider investment range. The difference is primarily in real estate and construction strategy, not in operational quality.
Can I compare these FDDs myself?
Yes. Both FDDs are available through the franchisor upon request. The FTC Franchise Rule requires franchisors to provide the FDD at least 14 days before any binding agreement or payment. Third-party comparison data is available at FreeFDDs.
What does the 125,000 population threshold mean for Kiddie Academy territory?
If the population within a 1-mile radius of your Kiddie Academy location exceeds 125,000, the franchisor can place additional units in your area. This effectively removes exclusive territory protection in dense markets. Primrose uses a defined geographic boundary that does not change with population.
How does private equity ownership affect Primrose franchisees?
Taurus Capital Partners acquired Primrose in March 2026 for approximately $2 billion. PE firms typically hold for 5–7 years and seek to increase EBITDA, which can mean more brand investment or fee adjustments and mandatory upgrades. The impact depends on the PE firm’s strategy and the franchise agreement terms.