The Boutique Fitness Landscape
The U.S. boutique fitness market — studios offering specialised, class-based workouts at a premium price point — was valued at roughly $44 billion in 2023 and continues to grow at approximately 10% annually (IBISWorld, 2024). The post-pandemic correction that shuttered thousands of studios in 2020–2021 is over in aggregate, but its effects are still visible: the brands that survived are larger, and the independents that closed left territory for franchise expansion.
Within that market, reformer-based Pilates occupies a specific and growing segment. Unlike mat Pilates — which can be taught in any open room with minimal equipment — reformer Pilates requires specialised apparatus that costs $3,000–$7,000 per machine, a studio layout built around those machines, and instructors certified on them — a constraint we examine in our analysis of how instructor supply affects competition. That equipment barrier is also a competitive moat: a yoga studio or a boot-camp franchise cannot pivot into reformer Pilates without a full buildout. A Club Pilates studio, once built, competes primarily with other reformer studios, not with the broader fitness market.
Where Club Pilates Sits
Club Pilates is the largest reformer Pilates franchise in the world by studio count. As of the 2025 FDD, the system had 849 studios reporting financial performance data, with system-wide gross revenue averaging $984,270 per studio (2024, per the 2025 FDD). The franchise fee is $65,000 (Item 5, 2025 FDD), and the total initial investment ranges from $385,048 to $839,058 (Item 7, 2025 FDD), depending on studio size and local buildout costs.
The brand’s positioning is “Pilates for everyone” — group reformer classes at a price point ($20–$35 per class, or $99–$249 per month for memberships) that undercuts private Pilates instruction by 60–80%. This is the same democratisation play that drove the first generation of boutique fitness brands: take a premium modality, strip it to essentials, add volume, and lower the per-session price to reach a mass market. It worked for cycling (SoulCycle, then Cyclebar), barre (Pure Barre), and high-intensity interval training (Orangetheory, F45). Club Pilates applied it to the reformer.
The post-pandemic landscape has been favourable to this model. The independent reformer studios that closed between 2020 and 2022 left demand intact while removing supply. Franchise systems with national marketing budgets and a recognised brand name absorbed much of that displaced demand. Club Pilates added 369 net studios between 2021 and 2024 (660 to 1,029 per Item 20), a pace that outstripped every other Pilates-specific brand.
What “Boutique” Means for Unit Economics
Boutique fitness studios are small-box retail — typically 1,500 to 3,000 square feet — with high revenue per square foot but limited capacity per class. A Club Pilates studio fits roughly 12–14 reformers. At a maximum of 12–14 participants per class and 8–12 classes per day, there is a hard physical ceiling on daily revenue. Growth beyond that ceiling requires either a second studio or an increase in per-class pricing, and the franchise agreement constrains both.
This ceiling is not unique to Club Pilates — it is structural to the format — but it means that the unit economics of a boutique fitness franchise are primarily a function of fill rate (percentage of available class spots sold) and retention (how long a member stays). A studio running at 70% fill rate with 14-month average member tenure is a different business from the same studio at 45% fill rate and 8-month tenure, even though the buildout cost, the rent, and the fee load are identical.
Head-to-Head Comparisons
The table below compares Club Pilates with three franchise systems a prospective buyer is likely to evaluate alongside it. Two of them — Pure Barre and F45 — are sister brands under the same parent company, Xponential Fitness. That shared ownership matters: regulatory actions against Xponential affect all of its brands, and a buyer considering any Xponential franchise should understand the portfolio-level exposure before signing.
| Dimension | Club Pilates | Pure Barre (Xponential) | F45 (Xponential) | Hotworx |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Modality | Reformer Pilates | Barre fitness | Functional HIIT / circuit | Infrared sauna + isometric / HIIT |
| Franchise fee | $65,000 | $60,000 | $60,000 | $15,000 |
| Total initial investment | ~$385K–$839K | ~$198K–$440K | ~$315K–$555K | ~$270K–$545K |
| Combined fee load (royalty + brand fund) | ~12% of revenue | ~12% of revenue | ~12% of revenue | ~7% of revenue |
| Avg. gross revenue (disclosed) | $984K (2024, per 2025 FDD) | Not separately disclosed | Not separately disclosed | Not disclosed (no Item 19) |
| Approximate US unit count | ~1,029 (Item 20, 2025 FDD) | ~680+ (mid-2025 estimate) | ~780+ (mid-2025 estimate) | ~700+ (mid-2025 estimate) |
| FTC regulatory exposure | Yes — named in 2026 proposed stipulated order (FTC alleged) | Yes — named in 2026 proposed stipulated order (FTC alleged) | No — Xponential subsidiary, not named in the 2026 order | None known |
Investment ranges from publicly available FDDs. Hotworx does not publish an Item 19 financial performance representation. Unit counts are approximate as of mid-2025 filings.
What the Comparison Tells You
Pure Barre is the closest comparison. It is a sister brand under Xponential, carries the same fee structure, the same parent-company regulatory exposure, and a similar investment range. The difference is the modality: barre fitness appeals to a narrower demographic (predominantly women, 25–45) than reformer Pilates, and Pure Barre studios are typically smaller. A buyer choosing between the two is choosing a modality and a customer base, not a meaningfully different business model.
F45 is a higher-investment Xponential brand with a different workout format (functional circuit training) and a broader demographic reach. Xponential acquired F45 out of financial distress in 2023, and its integration into the portfolio is still ongoing. F45 is not named in the March 2026 proposed stipulated order, but as an Xponential subsidiary, portfolio-level regulatory exposure is a factor buyers should evaluate.
Hotworx is an independent (non-Xponential) brand with a meaningfully different model: infrared sauna workouts in small, semi-private pods, lower fee load, and no Item 19 disclosure.
The Xponential Portfolio Context
Club Pilates is the flagship brand in the Xponential Fitness portfolio — the largest by studio count, the highest in disclosed revenue, and the one that generates the most royalty income for the parent company. But it does not exist in isolation. Xponential owns and operates ten boutique fitness brands, including Pure Barre, CycleBar, StretchLab, YogaSix, AKT, Stride, Row House, BFT (Body Fit Training), and F45. A Club Pilates franchisee’s agreement is with Club Pilates Franchise, LLC — but that entity is a subsidiary of Xponential Fitness, Inc., and the parent company’s decisions, financial health, and regulatory exposure flow through to every brand in the portfolio.
The FTC Proposed Stipulated Order
On 18 March 2026, the Federal Trade Commission announced a proposed stipulated order against Xponential Fitness and five of its brands: Club Pilates, Pure Barre, CycleBar, StretchLab, and YogaSix. The FTC alleged Franchise Rule violations, including that Xponential brands made misleading financial performance representations to prospective franchisees, told buyers studios typically opened within six months when the typical experience was over a year “if they opened at all,” failed to disclose executive litigation, omitted closed-franchisee names and contact information from disclosure documents, and did not always deliver the FDD at least 14 business days before signing.
The proposed order included a $17 million payment for consumer redress and imposed requirements on how Xponential may present financial information to prospective buyers going forward. Specifically, the FTC alleged that Xponential brands:
- Made earnings claims to prospective franchisees without adequate substantiation
- Presented financial performance data in a manner that overstated typical results
- Failed to disclose material information about studio closure rates and franchisee financial outcomes
- Omitted the names and contact information of former franchisees from disclosure documents, limiting a buyer’s ability to conduct due diligence
Two things to hold in mind. First, this is a proposed stipulated order — a negotiated settlement, not a finding of liability after trial. Xponential neither admitted nor denied the allegations. Second, the order applies to the parent company and specifically named brands. A buyer evaluating any Xponential franchise — not just Club Pilates — should understand the terms of this order and what it means for the representations they are receiving during the sales process.
Shared Infrastructure, Shared Exposure
The Xponential portfolio model creates three forms of shared exposure for a Club Pilates franchisee:
- Regulatory. An enforcement action against Xponential or any of its brands can affect the reputation, disclosure practices, and sales processes of every other brand in the portfolio. The FTC order applies to the parent entity.
- Financial. Xponential is a publicly traded company (NYSE: XPOF). Its stock price, debt load, and corporate decisions — including acquisitions like F45 — affect the resources available to support Club Pilates franchisees. A corporate financial event (e.g., a leveraged acquisition that strains the balance sheet) can reduce investment in franchise support even if Club Pilates itself is performing well.
- Operational. Xponential operates shared back-office functions, marketing platforms, and franchise sales teams across its brands. Changes at the corporate level — restructuring, leadership turnover, technology platform migrations — affect individual brand operations.
None of this is unique to Xponential. Multi-brand franchise holding companies are common in food service (Yum! Brands, Inspire Brands) and lodging (Marriott, Hilton). The difference is that Xponential’s portfolio is concentrated in a single sector — boutique fitness — and the FTC action means the regulatory exposure is current and specific, not hypothetical.
The Due Diligence Implication
When evaluating a Club Pilates franchise, you are also evaluating Xponential Fitness. Read the FTC press release. Read Xponential’s most recent 10-K filing. Ask the franchise development representative what the proposed stipulated order means for the representations being made to you today. The $17 million settlement is a cost the parent company has already absorbed — the more important question is whether the sales process you are in right now complies with the order’s requirements.
Understand how current and former Club Pilates owners describe the operational reality.
Read Owner Experiences →