Professional reviewing a business contract document at a desk
FDD & Financials

The Five-Year Leash: What the Shortest Agreement Term in Franchising Means for Your Exit, Your ROI, and Your Leverage

Every other franchise on this site locks you in for 10 to 25 years. Kumon gives you five. That changes everything — and not always in your favour.

You have probably noticed the number already. While Goddard ties you to a 15-year minimum, Primrose locks the term to your lease, and School of Rock runs a 10-year initial with three five-year successor options, Kumon’s franchise agreement is five years. Renewable, but five.

That is the shortest initial term of any franchise on this site by a wide margin. And it is not a detail — it reshapes every financial calculation you are about to make, from payback expectations to resale value to the amount of leverage you have when the franchisor wants something from you.


What Five Years Actually Means for Payback Math

Most franchise financial models assume a 7-to-10-year horizon. That is not arbitrary — it reflects the time most franchise systems give you to earn back your investment, weather the startup period, and generate a return worth the risk.

Kumon gives you half that window.

At a total investment of roughly $101,630 to $233,780 — the range two independent sources agree on, though the FDD has not been read directly — and a realistic break-even timeline of 6 to 18 months, you have roughly three to four years of positive cash flow before the agreement expires. If the high end of the investment range is closer to your situation, or if the enrolment ramp runs long, the payback window compresses to something uncomfortably tight.

Here is what that looks like in practice. Kumon discloses no Item 19 financial performance data, so we cannot tell you what owners earn. What we can do is build the math from the one number that is published: the per-student royalty of roughly $38 per subject per month. If you assume an average tuition of about $160 per student per month (one subject) and estimate centre operating costs, the sensitivity to enrolment becomes visible.

The table below assumes a $150,000 total investment, 12 months to break even, and estimated annual owner income at three enrolment levels. These are hypothetical — we do not know what Kumon owners actually earn — but the published fee structure lets you see how the payback window shifts.

Enrolment Estimated annual owner income Years to recover $150K Return in year 5
60 students (1 subject avg)~$30,000~6 years (does not recover in term)−$30,000
80 students (1 subject avg)~$45,000~4.3 years+$30,000
100 students (1.2 subjects avg)~$65,000~3.3 years+$110,000

Income estimates derived from published tuition (~$160/student/month), per-student royalty (~$38/subject/month), and estimated centre operating costs (rent, staffing, materials). These are illustrative, not disclosed. Your actual economics depend on your tuition, your lease, your market and your enrolment ramp.

The point is not the specific numbers — it is the shape. At 60 students, you do not recover your investment within the five-year term. At 80, you barely do. At 100 with multi-subject enrolment, the math works. The five-year window does not give you margin for error, and the payback period for most owners will consume most or all of the initial term.

That is not necessarily a bad deal. It is a $150,000 deal, not a $1.5 million one. You are not mortgaging your house. But the enrolment threshold that makes the math work is the single most important number in your diligence — and it is a number Kumon does not disclose.


The Renewal Question: What Happens at Year Five

The agreement is renewable. But “renewable” does not mean “automatically renewed.” Kumon’s franchise disclosure gives the franchisor the right to set renewal conditions, and franchise renewal clauses typically include:

  • Cure requirements: You must be in full compliance with the franchise agreement at renewal time. Any outstanding defaults — a late royalty payment, a maintenance issue, a branding infraction — can be used to deny renewal.
  • New agreement terms: The renewal may be on the then-current franchise agreement, not the one you signed. If Kumon has raised royalty rates, changed territory protections, or added operational requirements in the intervening five years, you get the new terms.
  • Facility upgrade requirements: Some franchisors require a centre refresh or upgrade as a condition of renewal. For a Kumon centre in a 1,000-to-1,500-square-foot retail suite, this could mean signage, fixtures, or technology updates.
  • Renewal fees: A fee to renew is standard in franchising, though the amount varies by system.
Business planner and calendar on a desk for strategic timeline planning

The practical consequence is that the franchisor holds meaningful leverage at renewal. You have a running business, a lease, employees, and enrolled students. Walking away is expensive. But the agreement expires in five years regardless, and the terms of what comes next are not entirely in your hands.

This is the trade-off built into the short term: you get a lower-commitment entry, but you also get less contractual security. A 15-year Goddard agreement means you are locked in — but it also means the franchisor cannot renegotiate the core deal for 15 years. Five years gives both sides an option to walk away, and options are worth more to the party with more alternatives.


What Five Years Means for Resale Value

If you build a profitable Kumon centre and want to sell it, the agreement term is the first thing a buyer’s advisor will flag.

A franchise resale is worth a multiple of earnings, but that multiple is heavily discounted by how much term remains. A centre with four years left on the agreement is worth more than one with 18 months. A centre whose agreement has expired and is operating month-to-month is worth very little to anyone except a buyer who plans to negotiate a new agreement directly with Kumon — and Kumon is not obligated to approve the transfer on favourable terms.

The resale window, practically speaking, is years two through four. By year one, you are still ramping. By year five, the approaching expiration depresses the price. That is a narrow window to build, stabilise, and exit.

For context, Mathnasium’s agreement runs 10 years with renewal options. Goddard’s runs 15 years minimum. A buyer evaluating two centres with identical economics will pay more for the one with more term remaining, every time.


The Leverage Dynamic: Who Benefits From a Short Term

Short terms benefit the franchisor when the franchisee is replaceable. If your centre is performing and Kumon wants you to stay, they have every incentive to renew smoothly. But if your centre is underperforming, or if Kumon has a different operator ready to step in, the five-year expiration is a natural exit mechanism that avoids the legal cost of a termination.

Short terms benefit the franchisee when the system is deteriorating. If Kumon makes changes you disagree with — raises the per-student royalty, adds operational requirements, fails to invest in the brand — you are out in five years without needing to negotiate a buyout or fight a non-compete. The ~20% annual closure rate may partly reflect this dynamic: owners who planned a five-year run and left on schedule.

For the typical buyer, the question is whether the lower financial commitment justifies the shorter runway. Capital advisors who specialise in franchise financing, such as Lendesca, evaluate both the investment amount and the agreement term when modelling a deal’s risk profile — a shorter term at lower capital is not automatically riskier than a longer term at higher capital, but the analysis is different.


The Comparison That Matters

Kumon Mathnasium School of Rock Goddard Primrose
Initial term5 years10 years10 years15+ yearsTied to lease
RenewalYes (new terms)Yes3x 5-year optionsPer agreementPer lease
Total investment~$102K–$234K~$127K–$166K$425K–$705K$1.0M–$8.9M$743K–$1.53M
Payback runway3–4 years post-ramp7–8 years post-ramp6–8 years post-ramp10–12 years post-ramp10–12 years post-ramp

The pattern is clear: lower investment, shorter term, tighter payback window. That is not a flaw in the Kumon model — it is the model. You are buying a smaller, shorter bet with correspondingly smaller stakes and less room for the unexpected.


What to Do With This

Before you sign:

  • Model your payback explicitly over five years, not “eventually.” If the numbers do not work within the initial term, they do not work. See the break-even analysis for the enrolment targets.
  • Ask about renewal conditions in writing. The FDD covers Item 17 (renewal, termination, transfer), but ask your regional developer what has actually happened at recent renewals. Were terms changed? Were royalties adjusted?
  • Talk to franchisees who have renewed. Item 20 of the FDD lists every current and recently departed franchisee. Call the ones who are on their second or third term and ask what changed.
  • Price your exit. If you plan to sell the centre rather than renew, understand that the resale value starts declining around year three. That is two years after break-even in the best case.

The five-year term is not a trap. It is a fundamentally different risk profile than the other franchises on this site, and it needs to be evaluated on its own terms — not through the lens of a 15-year childcare investment. Understand what you are buying, and how long you have to make it work, and the short leash becomes a feature rather than a constraint.

Disclaimer

This article is part of the Kumon franchise analysis on Franchise Financing Guide — an independent resource for prospective franchise investors. We are not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Kumon North America, Inc. The Kumon® name and logo are registered trademarks of Kumon Institute of Education Co., Ltd.