Financial analysis spreadsheet with franchise performance data
FDD & Financials

The 11.2x Spread: What $574K vs $6.4M in Goddard School Revenue Actually Tells You About Your Odds

You will find Goddard’s average revenue — $2.5 million — on every franchise comparison site. What none of them tell you is that the school at the bottom made $574,000. The school at the top made $6.4 million. That is an 11.2x spread, and it means the “average” describes almost nobody.


The Number Every Aggregator Publishes — and What It Hides

Per publicly available franchise data platforms reporting 2026 FDD figures, The Goddard School’s mature locations (those operating 18 months or longer) averaged $2,507,631 in gross revenue. That figure appears on every franchise comparison site, every broker pitch deck, and most of the Reddit threads where prospective buyers debate childcare franchises.

It is not a fabricated number. It comes from an actual filing. But it is a deeply misleading one to build a pro forma around, because it flattens a distribution so wide that the average occupies a position almost nobody in the system actually holds.

The high end of the disclosed range is $6,411,013. The low end is $574,494. That bottom school — a mature Goddard location that has been open long enough to clear the 18-month threshold — generated less revenue than many single-unit quick-service restaurants. The top school generated more than some multi-unit retail operations.

The ratio between them is 11.2 to 1. When the spread inside a franchise system is that wide, the average is not a prediction. It is a statistical artefact that obscures more than it reveals.

A buyer who builds a financial model on $2.5 million is not modelling “conservatively below the average.” That buyer is modelling a number that sits above the median, above the point where most schools cluster, and above the revenue that the majority of franchisees in the system actually experience. The average is not the middle. The middle is somewhere else, and the distinction is worth hundreds of thousands of dollars in annual cash flow.


What the 2026 FDD Actually Discloses

The Item 19 financial performance representation in Goddard’s 2026 FDD — as reported across franchise data aggregators — covers mature schools with at least 18 months of continuous operation. Per these sources, approximately 620 of Goddard’s 665 total US outlets meet that threshold, with roughly 37 schools classified as new (under 18 months).

The key figures, per publicly available aggregator data:

  • Average gross revenue (mature schools): $2,507,631
  • Median gross revenue: approximately $2,267,646 (2025 FDD figure; 2026 median not separately published in aggregator data reviewed)
  • High: $6,411,013
  • Low: $574,494
  • Average EBITDA: $546,554, representing a 22% margin on average revenue
  • Year-over-year revenue growth: approximately 3.7%

This is a significant improvement in disclosure compared to prior years. The EBITDA line — earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation, and amortisation — was not previously broken out. Its inclusion gives buyers something closer to operating profitability than raw revenue alone. But it also introduces a new set of problems, because a system-wide average EBITDA applied to a non-average revenue creates a number that describes no actual school.

What the FDD does not disclose in Item 19, per these aggregator summaries:

  • Owner compensation. The EBITDA figure does not subtract what the owner pays themselves. For a single-unit operator running the school, this is a real and substantial cost that comes out of the $546K.
  • Debt service. Interest on the SBA loan or other financing used to open the school is excluded from EBITDA by definition. On a build-to-suit lease investment of $1.0M–$1.5M, annual debt service is a six-figure line item.
  • Depreciation. Leasehold improvements, furniture, playground equipment, technology — these are real costs that EBITDA excludes and that the owner must eventually replace.
  • Quartile breakdowns. The FDD discloses the average, high, and low. It does not publish the distribution by quartile, which means buyers cannot see where the density of schools actually sits.

Franchise disclosure analysts sometimes assign letter grades to the quality of a brand’s financial transparency. By the standards of the industry, Goddard’s Item 19 lands around a C+ to B-: real revenue and EBITDA figures are disclosed, but the absence of quartile data, the omission of owner compensation, and the lack of any cash-flow-after-debt metric leave buyers doing significant estimation on their own.


The Distribution Shape: Why the Median Matters More Than the Average

The relationship between the average and the median tells you the shape of the distribution before you see the histogram.

Goddard’s average mature-school revenue is $2,507,631. The median — the point where exactly half of schools sit above and half sit below — is approximately $2,267,646, based on the most recently published aggregator data.

The average exceeds the median by roughly $240,000, or about 10.6%. In a symmetric distribution, the average and median are the same number. When the average is higher, the distribution is right-skewed: a small number of high-performing schools pull the average upward while the majority of schools cluster below it.

What this means in practice: more than half of Goddard’s mature schools generate less than the average. A buyer who models the average as their expected outcome is modelling above the median — above the point that most schools in the system actually reach.

Without published quartile data, the exact shape of the distribution is not knowable from the FDD alone. But the spread and skew allow reasonable inference:

  • Bottom quartile (roughly schools 1–155): Likely revenue range of $574K to approximately $1.6M–$1.8M. These are schools that are open and operating but generating revenue that, after costs, may not cover debt service and owner compensation simultaneously.
  • Second quartile (roughly schools 156–310): Likely $1.8M to approximately $2.3M. This group sits at or below the median and represents the system’s middle-performers — viable but not the success story that the franchise development team will highlight.
  • Third quartile (roughly schools 311–465): Likely $2.3M to approximately $3.0M–$3.2M. Schools in this range are performing above the median and around or above the average. A buyer who lands here is doing well by system standards.
  • Top quartile (roughly schools 466–620): Likely $3.2M and up, with the very top reaching $6.4M. This is the range that drives the average above the median. Schools here are typically in affluent, high-demand markets with mature enrolment and tuition pricing power.

These quartile ranges are estimates, not disclosed figures. But the underlying point does not depend on the exact boundaries: the distribution is not centred on the average, and a buyer who uses $2.5M as their baseline expectation is starting from a number that most schools in the system do not reach.

Preschool classroom with teacher and small group of children

For comparison, the Primrose system shows a similar pattern. Primrose’s top-quartile schools average $3,586,393 in AUV with top-quartile EBITDA of $768,966 — but the quartile spread in that system reveals the same skew, where the top performers inflate an average that the median school does not reach.


What Drives the 11.2x Gap

The FDD does not break out revenue by geography, school age, capacity, or competitive density. The 11.2x spread between $574K and $6.4M is reported as a single range with no segmentation. That means any explanation for the gap is hypothesis, not disclosure — but several drivers are structurally obvious.

Geography and market affluence. Goddard schools are concentrated in suburban markets, but “suburban” spans from affluent commuter corridors outside major metros to smaller secondary markets. A school in a northern Virginia suburb with a median household income of $180,000 operates in a fundamentally different demand environment than one in a mid-tier market where household income is $65,000. Tuition pricing power — the ability to charge $2,200/month vs $1,400/month per child — is the single largest driver of the revenue ceiling. That gap multiplied across 120–200 enrolled children is where most of the spread comes from.

School tenure. The 18-month threshold for “mature” is a low bar. A school that crossed that line six months ago is technically mature but may still be ramping enrolment. A school in its eighth year with a waitlist and a fully stabilised cost structure is a different business. Revenue ramp in childcare is slow — it takes most schools 2–4 years to reach stabilised enrolment, and the FDD’s mature cohort includes schools at every point on that curve.

Facility capacity. Goddard schools vary in licensed capacity. A school built for 120 children has a hard revenue ceiling that a school built for 200+ children does not. State licensing ratios — the number of children permitted per teacher at each age group — determine both the capacity and the cost structure simultaneously. A state that requires a 1:4 ratio for infants produces a different economics than one that permits 1:6. The same building in two different states may produce 30% different revenue at full enrolment.

Local competition density. A Goddard school that is the only premium-priced option in a 10-mile radius faces different demand than one that competes with a Primrose, a Kiddie Academy, and three independent Montessori programmes within two miles. Competition compresses both enrolment rates and tuition pricing power.

Enrolment mix by age group. Infant care commands higher tuition but requires more staff per child. A school with 40% infant enrolment generates higher per-child revenue but carries higher labour costs. A school weighted toward pre-K has lower per-child revenue but better labour ratios. The revenue-optimal mix depends on the local market’s willingness to pay the infant premium.

None of these factors are disclosed in the FDD’s Item 19. A buyer who wants to understand where their specific school is likely to land in this distribution needs to obtain that information through validation calls and local market research — the franchisor’s financial performance representation will not tell them.


The EBITDA Disclosure: Better Than Nothing, Less Than Enough

The addition of EBITDA to Goddard’s Item 19 is a genuine step forward in disclosure quality. An average EBITDA of $546,554 at a 22% margin gives buyers a real number to start with. But “start” is the operative word, because EBITDA is not cash flow and the gap between them is large.

EBITDA at the median, not the average. The $546K EBITDA figure is calculated on average revenue of $2.5M. But if the median school generates approximately $2.3M, and if the 22% margin holds at that revenue level (it may not — overhead does not scale linearly), then EBITDA at the median is closer to $506,000. That is $40K less than the average EBITDA figure, and it is the more realistic starting point for a buyer who acknowledges that they are more likely to land at the median than the average.

In practice, the margin may compress below the median. Schools with lower revenue still carry many of the same fixed costs — rent, insurance, minimum staffing ratios mandated by licensing. A school generating $1.5M may operate at a 14–16% EBITDA margin rather than 22%, because the fixed cost base consumes a larger share of revenue. The 22% average is pulled up by high-revenue schools where the fixed costs are a smaller percentage. This is not disclosed, but it is structurally inevitable.

What comes out of EBITDA before the owner gets paid:

  • Debt service. A build-to-suit lease investment of $1.0M–$1.5M, financed through an SBA 7(a) loan at current rates, carries annual debt service of approximately $100,000–$140,000 depending on the loan amount, rate, and term. For a retrofit ($1.7M–$5.0M) or a land-purchase build ($5.5M–$8.9M), debt service is proportionally higher and may exceed $300,000/year.
  • Depreciation / replacement reserves. Playground equipment, classroom furniture, technology systems, and leasehold improvements all have useful lives. The owner must either reserve for replacement or accept periodic capital calls. A reasonable annual reserve for a childcare facility is $30,000–$60,000.
  • Owner compensation. A single-unit Goddard franchisee who is the operating director of the school is doing a full-time job. The opportunity cost of that time is the salary they would earn elsewhere — for most Goddard franchisees, that is $100,000–$150,000 or more, given the professional backgrounds that typically qualify for the brand’s net-worth requirements.

After these deductions, the math at the median looks like this: $506K EBITDA, minus $120K debt service (build-to-suit lease scenario), minus $40K replacement reserves, minus $125K owner compensation imputed = approximately $221,000 in pre-tax free cash flow. That is the number the owner actually keeps.

At the average, it is higher — roughly $261,000 on the same assumptions. But neither figure accounts for the $8,400 annual curriculum fee ($700/month), which reduces both by another $8,400 to approximately $213,000 at the median and $253,000 at the average.

These are estimates. Every school’s actual debt load, reserve needs, and owner compensation will differ. But the exercise demonstrates the gap between the disclosed $546K EBITDA and the cash that lands in the owner’s pocket. The disclosed number is 2.5x the estimated free cash flow. A buyer who models the disclosed EBITDA as “what I’ll make” is overestimating by roughly $300,000/year.


The Competitive Comparison — and Why It Is Harder Than It Looks

Buyers evaluating Goddard inevitably compare it to Primrose and Kiddie Academy. The instinct is correct — these are the three premium childcare franchise systems competing for similar demographics in overlapping markets. But the comparison is treacherous because each brand discloses different metrics.

Goddard (2026 FDD, per aggregator data):

  • Average mature revenue: $2,507,631
  • Average EBITDA: $546,554 (22% margin)
  • Total fee load: 11% (7% royalty + ~4% advertising/brand fund) + $700/month curriculum fee

Primrose (2025 FDD):

  • Top-quartile AUV: $3,586,393
  • Top-quartile EBITDA: $768,966
  • Fee load: 7% royalty + 2% advertising = 9%

Kiddie Academy (2025 FDD):

  • Average mature gross profit: $559,914 (25.5% margin on $2,193,070 revenue)
  • Fee load: 9% (7% royalty + 2% Brand Building Fund)

The metric inconsistency is the landmine. Goddard discloses EBITDA. Primrose discloses EBITDA. Kiddie Academy discloses gross profit. Gross profit sits above EBITDA on the income statement — it has not yet absorbed rent, insurance, non-instructional labour, or administrative overhead. A buyer who puts Kiddie Academy’s $559K next to Goddard’s $546K and concludes they are similar is comparing a number from the middle of the income statement to one from near the bottom. For a detailed breakdown of why this comparison fails, see the Kiddie Academy gross-profit-vs-net analysis.

Even the Goddard-to-Primrose comparison, which at least uses the same metric, requires caution:

  • Primrose’s top-quartile figure ($3.6M AUV, $769K EBITDA) is just that — top quartile. Goddard’s $2.5M and $546K are system averages. Comparing the top 25% of one brand to the average of another overstates the gap. Goddard’s top-quartile revenue is likely in the $3.2M–$4.5M range based on the distribution shape, which would narrow the comparison significantly.
  • The fee load difference (Primrose at 9%, Goddard at 11% plus the $700/month curriculum fee) means that for every dollar of revenue, a Goddard franchisee retains 2 percentage points less. On $2.5M revenue, that is $50,000/year in additional fees before the curriculum charge.
  • Investment paths differ. Primrose’s model is primarily build-to-suit; Goddard offers three paths with materially different capital requirements (build-to-suit lease at $1.0M–$1.5M, retrofit at $1.7M–$5.0M, and land purchase and construction at $5.5M–$8.9M). The return-on-investment calculation depends entirely on which path the buyer takes.

Kiddie Academy’s quartile spread shows a 13x ratio between top and bottom performers — wider than Goddard’s 11.2x — suggesting that wide dispersion is structural to childcare franchising rather than specific to any one brand. The question is not which brand has a tighter distribution, but where in any brand’s distribution a specific buyer is likely to land.

KinderCare, as a public-market reference point: KinderCare (NYSE: KLC) is not a franchise system but provides the only publicly audited financials in the childcare sector. In Q2 2026, KinderCare closed 49 centres, reported enrolment down 4% year-over-year, and posted occupancy of 68.6%. These are corporate-operated centres, not franchised locations, and the dynamics are different — but they signal that the broader childcare market is not uniformly expanding. A buyer who assumes that Goddard’s 3.7% revenue growth will continue indefinitely should note that the largest operator in the sector is contracting.


The Pro Forma Math at the Median

A buyer’s financial model should start at the median, not the average. Here is the math, using the build-to-suit lease investment path (the most common Goddard configuration) and median revenue.

Revenue: $2,300,000 (approximate median)

Fee Rate / Amount Annual Cost
Royalty 7% −$161,000
Brand/advertising fund ~4% −$92,000
Curriculum fee $700/month −$8,400
Total fee load −$261,400

Less operating expenses (labour, rent, insurance, supplies, utilities, admin — estimated at the balance needed to reach a 22% EBITDA margin):

Total operating expenses: approximately −$1,532,600

EBITDA: approximately $506,000

Below-EBITDA Item Assumption Annual Cost
Debt service on $1.25M SBA loan 25-year term, ~8% blended rate −$116,000
Replacement reserves −$40,000
Owner compensation (imputed) −$125,000
Total below-EBITDA costs −$281,000

Estimated pre-tax free cash flow: approximately $225,000

Less income taxes (estimated effective rate ~25%): −$56,000

Estimated after-tax cash flow to owner: approximately $169,000

On a build-to-suit lease investment of $1.25M (midpoint of the $1.0M–$1.5M range), that is a 13.5% cash-on-cash return before accounting for equity injection versus debt. If the buyer put down 20% ($250K) and the SBA loan covers the rest, the return on equity is higher — but so is the risk if revenue comes in below the median.

At the bottom of the distribution ($574K revenue), the math does not work at all. At a 15% EBITDA margin (likely compressed at this revenue level), EBITDA would be approximately $86,000 — less than debt service alone. The bottom-quartile Goddard franchisee is not generating a return on investment. They are covering operating costs and hoping enrolment improves.

At the average ($2.5M revenue), after-tax cash flow rises to approximately $195,000 on the same assumptions. The difference between the median and average scenarios is roughly $26,000/year after tax — meaningful but not transformative.

The SBA financing page details the loan structures available for each investment path. Buyers pursuing the retrofit ($1.7M–$5.0M) or land-purchase ($5.5M–$8.9M) paths face proportionally higher debt service that compresses the cash-on-cash return significantly, even if revenue lands at the average.


System Health Indicators Beyond Revenue

Revenue and EBITDA are the headline numbers, but several structural indicators from Goddard’s franchise data tell a buyer about the system’s trajectory.

Closure rate: 0.2%. Per aggregator data, one mature Goddard school ceased operations in 2025 out of 665 total outlets. A closure rate below 1% is strong by franchise standards — it means that even schools performing at the bottom of the distribution are, in almost all cases, choosing to remain open. This does not mean they are profitable; it means the cost of exiting (lease obligations, franchise agreement terms, asset liquidation losses) may exceed the cost of operating at a loss for owners hoping to reach enrolment stabilisation.

New unit growth: 37 new schools. The IFA reported that Goddard signed 60 new franchise agreements in 2025. With 37 new schools in the pipeline, the system is expanding. But new-school revenue data is excluded from the mature-school averages, and the ramp period for childcare — the 2–4 years between opening and stabilised enrolment — means these units are generating revenue well below the system average during their growth phase.

Year-over-year revenue growth: ~3.7%. For context, the 2025 FDD reported an average of $2,417,129 for mature schools. The 2026 figure of $2,507,631 represents a gain of approximately $90,000 per school, or 3.7%. This is above inflation but not dramatically so. It suggests modest tuition increases and/or modest enrolment gains across the system, not a surge in demand. A buyer should not model growth rates above this without a specific thesis about their local market.

Accreditation as a moat. Goddard requires NAEYC accreditation (National Association for the Education of Young Children). The NAEYC standards impose requirements on teacher qualifications, classroom ratios, curriculum structure, and facility design that are more stringent than state licensing minimums. This is both a competitive advantage (parents who value accreditation will pay a premium) and a cost burden (higher-credentialed teachers cost more, and the accreditation process itself requires investment). The 11% fee load plus the cost of meeting NAEYC standards is why Goddard’s operating cost structure is higher than some competitors — and why its pricing power may be more defensible.


What to Ask in Validation Calls

The FDD provides the frame. Validation calls with existing franchisees fill in the picture. These are the questions that the Item 19 data specifically does not answer.

On revenue trajectory:

  • What was your gross revenue in each of your first four years? Where did you stabilise?
  • How long did it take to reach 85% enrolment? 95%?
  • What is your current enrolment as a percentage of licensed capacity, and how does that compare to your break-even enrolment level?

On the gap between EBITDA and cash flow:

  • What do you actually take home after debt service, reserves, and your own compensation?
  • How does your take-home compare to what you modelled before you signed?
  • Has the curriculum fee ($700/month) changed since you opened, and were there other fees or costs that were not in your original pro forma?

On the distribution:

  • Do you know roughly where your school ranks in the system? Are you above or below the average?
  • What do you think separates the top-performing schools from the rest? Is it market, is it execution, or is it something structural about the facility or location?
  • If you were buying again today, what would you do differently in your market selection?

On competitive dynamics:

  • How many competing childcare centres are within a 5-mile radius of your school? Has that number changed since you opened?
  • Have you seen pricing pressure from competitors, or does the Goddard/NAEYC brand hold its premium?
  • Are you seeing any impact from the broader childcare market softening (KinderCare closures, enrolment declines)?

On costs that are not in the FDD:

  • What was your actual total investment, and how did it compare to the Item 7 range for your investment path?
  • What are your biggest cost surprises in the first three years?
  • What is your annual capital expenditure for maintenance, replacement, and compliance — beyond what you budgeted?

The answers to these questions will not change the FDD numbers, but they will tell a buyer whether the FDD numbers describe a system that operates the way the averages suggest, or one where the average is a mirage that hides a bimodal distribution of outcomes.


Bottom Line

Goddard’s $2.5 million average revenue is real. Its 22% EBITDA margin is a legitimate and useful disclosure. But the 11.2x spread between the top and bottom school means that “average” is not where most buyers will land, and the disclosed EBITDA — after debt service, reserves, owner compensation, and the curriculum fee — leaves roughly $169,000–$195,000 in after-tax cash flow at the median-to-average range for the most common (build-to-suit lease) investment path.

That is a viable small-business return. It is not the $546,000 that the EBITDA line suggests at first glance, and a buyer who models the difference between those two numbers incorrectly will either overpay for the franchise or be surprised by the gap between what the FDD reports and what their bank account shows.

The distribution shape, not the average, is the number that matters. A buyer’s job in due diligence is to determine where in the distribution their specific school — in their specific market, at their specific investment level, in their specific competitive environment — is most likely to land. The complete FDD and financial analysis breaks down the full Item 7 and Item 19 picture; start there and build outward.

Every figure in this analysis is drawn from publicly available franchise data aggregators and cross-referenced across multiple platforms. These figures have not been independently verified against the FDD filing itself. Prospective franchisees should obtain and review the current Franchise Disclosure Document directly from The Goddard School before making any investment decision.

Sources and Disclaimer

Franchise Financing Guide is an independent analytical resource. All figures cited are from Goddard Systems, LLC’s 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document. This publication is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Goddard Systems, LLC. “The Goddard School” is a registered trademark of Goddard Systems, LLC. All trademark rights belong to their respective owners.