Several guitars lined up in a music rehearsal space
FDD & Financials

The 38% Gap: Why Company-Owned School of Rock Locations Outsell Franchisees by a Quarter Million Dollars

What the 2025 FDD reveals about the revenue divide between corporate and franchised music schools — and what it means for your pro forma.

Search “School of Rock franchise revenue” and you will see the same figure everywhere: $672,488. That is the average gross revenue across 223 franchised schools in the 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document, reporting fiscal year 2024 results. It is accurate. It is also incomplete.

Forty-six company-owned schools averaged $925,351 — 37.6% higher. In dollar terms, that is $252,863 more per location per year.

This gap is not hidden. It sits in the same Item 19 table, on the same page, in the same FDD filed by School of Rock Franchising LLC (a subsidiary of Youth Enrichment Brands, LLC). But franchise aggregator sites almost never surface it, because the comparison raises uncomfortable questions about what drives unit economics in this system — and whether the franchised model can close the distance.

If you are modeling a School of Rock acquisition or startup, the gap between $672K and $925K is the single most important structural feature in the financial data. Ignore it and your pro forma starts on the wrong foundation.


What the 2025 FDD Actually Shows

The Item 19 financial performance representation breaks revenue into two populations. Here is the full picture:

Gross Revenue — Franchised vs. Company-Owned (FY2024)

Metric Franchised (223 schools) Company-Owned (46 schools)
Average$672,488$925,351
Median$640,486$824,785
Low$173,015$268,332
High$2,091,171$1,894,803

A few things jump out immediately.

The median trails the average on both sides. Franchised median is $640,486 versus a $672,488 average — a $32,000 drag. Company-owned median is $824,785 versus $925,351. Both distributions are right-skewed: a handful of high-performing outliers pull the average up. If you are using the average as your “expected” revenue, you are starting above where half the schools actually land.

The franchised floor is dramatically lower. The lowest-performing franchised school reported $173,015. That is roughly a quarter of the median and barely enough to cover a single full-time instructor’s salary, let alone rent, royalties, and debt service. The company-owned floor — $268,332 — is 55% higher.

The franchised ceiling is actually higher. One franchised school hit $2,091,171, topping the company-owned high of $1,894,803. This tells you the model can produce elite outcomes. It also tells you the variance is enormous. A system where the top performer does 12x the bottom performer is not a narrow-band business.

The Spread Within Franchised Schools

The $1.9 million range between $173K and $2.09M within the franchised population is more informative than the average. The system has 254 total franchised units and 49 company-owned units. That means roughly 112 franchised schools sit below the median of $640,486. Some of those are new. Some are in weak markets. Some have been open for years and have not found traction.

The FDD does not break out revenue by school age, geography, or enrollment size. That absence is itself a data point. The FTC Franchise Rule requires franchisors to disclose what they choose to disclose in Item 19 — and to make it accurate — but it does not require granularity. School of Rock chose a single aggregate table for each population.


Four Hypotheses for the Gap

The FDD does not explain why company-owned schools outperform. It reports the numbers and stops. But four structural hypotheses are worth examining before you accept the franchised average as your baseline.

1. Site Selection Advantage

Company-owned schools are not placed randomly. Corporates pick their own locations, often in proven metro markets with high household income and dense populations of school-age children. They do not have to negotiate territory rights with themselves. They place schools where the data says schools should go.

Franchisees, by contrast, choose from available territories — which means the best territories may already be taken, either by other franchisees or by corporate itself. A franchisee opening in a secondary market starts with a structural revenue ceiling that has nothing to do with their operational skill.

This matters more than most buyers realize. Music education is not a commodity — it is discretionary spending that correlates tightly with household income and parental education levels. A school in an affluent suburb with strong arts-culture demand and no direct competitor has a fundamentally different addressable market than one in a mid-density exurban strip mall. If corporate is cherry-picking the former, franchisees are left competing for the latter.

2. Tenure and Maturity

Older schools have larger enrolled student bases, stronger word-of-mouth, and more established performance programs (a key revenue driver in the School of Rock model). If the company-owned portfolio skews older on average than the franchised portfolio, the revenue gap may partly reflect time in market rather than operational superiority.

The FDD does not disclose average school age by ownership type. This is a question you can and should ask during discovery.

Musicians playing instruments together in a rehearsal room

3. Operating Leverage and Cost Structure

Company-owned schools do not pay royalties. They do not pay the 8% royalty fee, the 3% brand fund contribution, or up to 3% in local advertising co-op fees that franchisees owe. That is up to 14% of gross revenue that stays in the corporate P&L rather than flowing out.

This does not directly explain the revenue gap — royalties are a cost, not a revenue drag — but it changes reinvestment capacity. A company-owned school generating $925K keeps roughly $130,000 more per year than a franchisee at the same revenue level. That capital can fund additional marketing, hire a second instructor, or extend operating hours, all of which drive enrollment and revenue growth.

4. Management Depth

Corporate locations are typically managed by salaried operators who report into a regional structure with dedicated support for marketing, HR, and curriculum. Franchisees — especially single-unit owners — are often the operator, the marketer, the bookkeeper, and the hiring manager.

This is not a knock on franchisees. It is a description of resource asymmetry. The question is whether the franchised model provides enough support infrastructure to close that gap, or whether the 14% fee stack is paying for a system that still leaves the franchisee under-resourced relative to corporate peers.

A caveat on all four: These are hypotheses, not conclusions. The FDD does not confirm causation. Any credible financial model should test sensitivity across these variables rather than assuming the gap is immutable or irrelevant.


What This Means for Your Financial Model

If you are building a pro forma for a School of Rock franchise — whether a new build or an acquisition of an existing school — the company-owned data creates a temptation and a trap.

Build on the Franchised Median, Not the Average

Your base case should use $640,486, not $672,488. The median is the point where half the schools earn more and half earn less. With a right-skewed distribution, the average overstates the “typical” outcome by $32,000 per year.

A $32,000 difference may not sound large against a $640K revenue line. But it compounds. Over a 10-year franchise term, that is $320,000 in cumulative revenue your model assumes you will earn but probably will not — before adjusting for inflation or growth.

The Fee Stack at $640K

Here is what the royalty and fee structure looks like against the franchised median:

Fee Rate Annual Cost at $640K
Royalty8%$51,200
Brand fund3%$19,200
Local co-op (max)3%$19,200
Total (max)14%$89,600

At the median revenue, you are sending up to $89,600 per year to the franchisor and its advertising funds before you pay rent, labor, instrument maintenance, insurance, or yourself. Even at the lower bound — 11% if co-op advertising is not activated in your market — that is $70,400.

The full FDD and financial analysis breaks down each fee component and when they are triggered.

Why Applying Company-Owned NOI to Franchised Revenue Is Dangerous

The FDD discloses that company-owned schools averaged a net operating income of $207,093, representing a 22.4% NOI margin. This is the only profitability figure in the document. Franchised NOI is not disclosed.

It is tempting to apply that 22.4% margin to franchised revenue: $640,486 times 22.4% equals $143,469. That looks like a reasonable income for a single-unit franchise owner.

Do not do this. The math is wrong for at least three reasons:

  • Company-owned schools do not pay royalties or brand fund fees. A franchisee at the same gross revenue has 11–14% less margin to work with before any other cost difference.
  • Company-owned cost structures differ. Shared corporate overhead (accounting, HR, marketing) may be allocated differently than a franchisee’s standalone costs.
  • Revenue levels differ. The company-owned NOI margin is calculated against $925K average revenue. Fixed costs (rent, base staffing) do not scale linearly. At $640K, those same fixed costs consume a larger share of revenue.

A more conservative approach: start with the $640K median, subtract the full fee stack ($89,600), and then model your local operating costs line by line. If the resulting cash flow does not service your debt and provide a reasonable owner’s draw, the model is telling you something.

Here is a rough illustration of why the margin transfer fails:

Line Item Company-Owned ($925K) Franchisee ($640K)
Gross revenue$925,351$640,486
Royalty + fees (0% / 14%)$0$89,668
Revenue after fees$925,351$550,818
Reported NOI (22.4%)$207,093—
Implied operating costs$718,258—

If you naively assume the same $718K operating cost base applies to a franchised school (it should not — different rent, different staffing, different overhead allocation), the franchisee at median revenue has $550,818 minus $718,258, which is negative $167,440. The math collapses. Even if you assume a franchisee runs 15% leaner on operating costs — $610,519 — the result is negative $59,701. The model only works if franchisee operating costs are substantially lower than corporate’s, and the FDD gives you no basis to assume they are.

The Breakeven Question

The initial investment range for a School of Rock franchise is $425,250 to $704,800, including the $59,900 franchise fee. If you finance a portion through an SBA 7(a) loan, your monthly debt service adds another fixed cost that the revenue must cover.

At the franchised median, with a full fee stack, your gross margin before local operating costs is roughly $550,886. Whether that covers rent, labor, loan payments, and an owner’s salary depends entirely on your market. In a high-rent metro area, it may not. In a lower-cost suburban location, it probably does — but with less room for error than the average revenue figure suggests.

For a detailed look at SBA financing options at this investment level, including loan sizing and debt service scenarios, see the financing breakdown.


The Questions to Ask Before Signing

The FDD gives you the aggregate data. Discovery Day, validation calls, and your franchise attorney give you the rest. Here are the questions that the 38% gap makes urgent.

Request Unit-Level Data by Vintage Year

Ask the franchisor — or better, ask existing franchisees during validation calls — how revenue correlates with school age. If a school open for five years averages $800K while a school open for two years averages $450K, the maturity curve explains part of the gap and tells you how long your ramp will take. The FDD does not provide this breakdown. Ask for it directly.

Ask About Territory Overlap With Company-Owned Schools

If the franchisor is placing company-owned schools in the highest-performing metro areas, franchisees may be systematically allocated to weaker markets. Ask how many company-owned schools have opened in the last three years, where they are located, and whether any are in territories that were previously offered to franchisees.

Investigate Turnover Rate of Recent Schools

The FDD’s franchise activity table (Item 20) shows how many franchises were terminated, not renewed, or transferred in the past three years. Cross-reference that with the total unit count. A system with 254 franchised units and a high churn rate in recent cohorts is a different risk profile than one with stable, growing units.

Reading franchisee complaints and corporate response alongside the FDD provides context that the disclosure document alone does not capture. Complaints are anecdotal, not statistical — but patterns across multiple franchisees are worth investigating.

Compare Demographics to Your Target Market

The company-owned portfolio may be concentrated in markets with higher median household income, larger populations of children aged 6–18, or stronger local music cultures. If your target territory looks different from the average company-owned location, the $925K figure is not your benchmark. Conversely, if your territory looks like the markets where franchised schools hit $800K+, the median may be too conservative.

Ask What Support Closes the Gap

If the franchisor acknowledges the revenue difference — and they should, since they published the data — ask what specific support is available to help franchisees close it. Marketing playbooks, enrollment optimization programs, and operational factors that drive revenue like instructor retention and performance program development are the levers. Vague answers like “we provide world-class support” are not actionable. Ask for the specific programs, their cost, and their measurable impact on franchisee revenue.


Bottom Line

The 38% revenue gap between company-owned and franchised School of Rock locations is not a scandal. It is a structural feature of the system that the FDD discloses transparently. But it fundamentally changes how you should read the financial data.

The franchised average of $672,488 is the number that will appear in every franchise broker’s pitch deck. The franchised median of $640,486 is a more honest starting point. And the company-owned NOI margin of 22.4% — the only profitability figure disclosed — cannot be ported to the franchised side without adjusting for the fee stack, the revenue difference, and the cost structure difference.

Build your model on what franchisees actually earn, not on what corporate locations earn. Stress-test it at the 25th percentile, not just the median. And ask the questions that the FDD’s aggregate tables deliberately leave unanswered.

The data is there. The gap is real. What matters is whether your specific market, your capitalization, and your operational plan can produce a return that justifies the investment — knowing that the corporate benchmark is structurally out of reach for most franchised operators.

Sources and Disclaimer

All figures cited from the School of Rock Franchising LLC 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document, Item 19 — Financial Performance Representations, reporting fiscal year 2024 results. School of Rock is a registered trademark of School of Rock Franchising LLC. This analysis is independent editorial content and is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by School of Rock Franchising LLC or Youth Enrichment Brands, LLC.