Most franchise buyers hear “8% royalty” and move on. That number is real — School of Rock Franchising LLC charges 8% of gross revenue as a continuing royalty. But the royalty is only the first layer of a three-part fee stack that can reach 14% of every dollar you collect.
Here is the full breakdown from the 2025 FDD:
| Fee | Rate | Basis | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Continuing royalty | 8% | Gross revenue | Paid weekly |
| Brand fund | 3% | Gross revenue | National marketing and brand development |
| Advertising co-op | Up to 3% | Gross revenue | Local/regional; rate varies by market |
At the franchised-unit average revenue of $672,488 (FY2024 Item 19), the maximum fee load looks like this:
- Royalty: $53,799
- Brand fund: $20,175
- Advertising co-op (max): $20,175
- Total potential fees: $94,148 per year
That is $94,148 that leaves your account before you pay rent, instructors, utilities, insurance, or yourself. The FTC Franchise Rule requires disclosure of these fees, but it does not require the franchisor to show you what they look like as a dollar amount at your projected revenue. You have to do that math yourself.
School of Rock Franchising LLC is a subsidiary of Youth Enrichment Brands, LLC. The fee structure funds corporate operations, brand campaigns, and a curriculum platform. Whether those services justify the cost depends entirely on the revenue your specific location generates — and on how much of that revenue survives to become owner earnings.
The Dollar Math at Three Revenue Levels
Averages hide distribution. The FDD reports a low of $173,015 and a high of $2,091,171 across franchised units. The spread is enormous. Here is what the fee stack does to a bottom-quartile location, a median location, and a top-quartile location.
For operating costs, we are using the company-owned NOI margin of 22.4% as a structural reference — company-owned units averaged $207,093 in NOI on $924,526 in revenue (FY2024). Franchised NOI is not disclosed in the FDD. That silence is itself a data point. For more on the revenue gap between company-owned and franchised units, see our separate analysis.
Fee and Earnings Model
| Metric | Bottom Quartile | Median | Top Quartile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gross revenue | $400,000 | $640,486 | $1,000,000 |
| Royalty (8%) | $32,000 | $51,239 | $80,000 |
| Brand fund (3%) | $12,000 | $19,215 | $30,000 |
| Co-op (max 3%) | $12,000 | $19,215 | $30,000 |
| Total fees (14%) | $56,000 | $89,668 | $140,000 |
| Remaining after fees | $344,000 | $550,818 | $860,000 |
| Est. operating costs (77.6% of gross)* | $310,400 | $497,017 | $776,000 |
| Implied owner earnings | $33,600 | $53,801 | $84,000 |
| Owner earnings as % of gross | 8.4% | 8.4% | 8.4% |
*Operating cost estimate applies the company-owned cost structure (77.6% of gross revenue) as a proxy. Actual franchisee costs will differ — franchisees typically carry higher occupancy costs and do not benefit from corporate volume purchasing. This table models max fees; actual co-op rates may be lower in some markets.
What the bottom-quartile number means
At $400,000 in revenue, the fee stack alone ($56,000) exceeds what the company-owned NOI margin would produce at that revenue level. Apply the 22.4% company-owned margin to $400,000 and you get $89,600 — then subtract $56,000 in fees and you are left with $33,600.
That is below minimum wage in most states for a full-time owner-operator. And this assumes your cost structure is as efficient as a company-owned unit, which it almost certainly is not.
At median revenue ($640,486), implied earnings reach roughly $53,800. Livable in some markets. Tight in high-cost metros where music education demand — and rent — are both elevated.
At $1 million, the picture changes. $84,000 in implied owner earnings is real money, and an owner who is not working the counter has room to reinvest. But $1 million puts you well above the franchised average, and the FDD does not tell you how many units reach that threshold.
What You Get for 14%
The fee stack is not a tax. It purchases specific services. The question is whether those services deliver value proportional to their cost at your revenue level.
Brand recognition
School of Rock has national awareness, particularly among parents of school-age children in suburban markets. But awareness is not the same as demand generation. Prospective students still find most locations through local search, referrals, and community events. The brand opens the door — it does not fill your enrollment pipeline.
Curriculum and methodology
This is the strongest argument for the fee structure. The performance-based curriculum is proprietary, structured, and differentiated from traditional music lesson models. You are not building lesson plans from scratch. The program progression, ensemble structure, and seasonal show framework are turnkey. For a franchisee without a music education background, this is the product.
Marketing support and the ROI question
The 3% brand fund is mandatory. The co-op spend (up to 3%) is market-dependent. Franchisee satisfaction with marketing ROI varies. Common complaints in franchise review forums and IFA franchise community resources include:
- National campaigns that do not translate to local enrollment
- Limited transparency on brand fund allocation
- Digital marketing assets that require local customization to be effective
Marketing support is a recurring friction point across education franchises, not unique to School of Rock. But at 6% of gross (brand fund plus max co-op), the spend is significant enough to demand accountability.
Technology platform
Scheduling, billing, student management, and curriculum delivery run through corporate platforms. These reduce your IT burden but create dependency. Switching costs are infinite — you cannot take the platform with you if you leave the system.
The corporate turnover problem
Youth Enrichment Brands, LLC has seen leadership transitions. Corporate turnover in franchise parent companies introduces strategic uncertainty — shifts in fee enforcement, changes to marketing strategy, renegotiation of vendor relationships. This is not a School of Rock-specific risk; it is a private-equity-backed franchise risk. But it is worth modeling: the fee stack funds an organization whose priorities may not remain static over your franchise term.
How This Compares to the Competition
Fee load is meaningless in isolation. It matters relative to what competitors charge for a comparable opportunity. Here is School of Rock against the most relevant alternatives in the competitive landscape.
Fee Comparison: Music and Education Franchises
| Metric | School of Rock | Bach to Rock | Kumon | Mathnasium |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty | 8% | 7% | ~36% of tuition* | 10% |
| Brand/ad fund | 3% | 2% | Included | 2% |
| Co-op (max) | 3% | 1% | — | — |
| Max total fee load | 14% | 10% | ~36%* | 12% |
| Franchise fee | $49,900 | $50,000 | $1,000–$2,000 | $49,000 |
| Total investment | $425,250–$704,800 | $259,100–$574,000 | $73,000–$155,000 | $112,750–$149,110 |
*Kumon’s model is structurally different — low investment, high royalty percentage, lower absolute revenue per unit. Direct comparison on royalty rate alone is misleading.
Sources: School of Rock 2025 FDD; Bach to Rock franchise disclosure; Kumon and Mathnasium 2024/2025 FDDs.
The meaningful comparison: Bach to Rock
Bach to Rock is the closest direct competitor — music education, performance-based curriculum, similar target demographic. The fee differential is material:
- Royalty spread: 1 percentage point (8% vs. 7%)
- Total fee ceiling: 4 percentage points (14% vs. 10%)
- Investment range: Bach to Rock’s ceiling ($574,000) sits below School of Rock’s floor ($425,250) in some configurations
At $640,000 in revenue, the fee difference between 14% and 10% is $25,600 per year. Over a ten-year franchise term, that is $256,000 in cumulative fee savings — before accounting for the lower initial capital requirement.
The question is not whether School of Rock’s brand is stronger. It probably is. The question is whether the brand premium is worth $25,600 per year in additional fees. That answer depends on whether the brand demonstrably drives higher enrollment at your specific location.
Fee load as a percentage of take-home
This is where the comparison gets sharp. If your owner earnings are $53,800 (median scenario above), the $25,600 annual fee difference between School of Rock’s maximum and Bach to Rock’s maximum represents 47.6% of your take-home. Nearly half your income.
Franchisors present fees as a percentage of gross. Buyers should evaluate them as a percentage of net.
Modeling the Fee Load in Your Pro Forma
If you are building a financial model for a School of Rock investment, these are the principles that protect you from underestimating the fee burden.
Always model at maximum
The co-op advertising contribution is listed as “up to 3%.” Your pro forma should use 3%. If actual co-op costs come in lower, that is upside. If you modeled at 1% and the market requires 3%, you have a structural gap in your plan.
Ask the franchisor and existing franchisees in your target market what the current co-op rate is. Then model at the maximum anyway. Rates can increase during your term.
Separate fee categories in your P&L
Do not lump all franchise fees into one line. Break them out:
- Line 1: Royalty (8%) — This is the cost of the franchise license. Fixed percentage, non-negotiable.
- Line 2: Brand fund (3%) — This is mandatory marketing spend you do not control. Evaluate the output.
- Line 3: Co-op advertising (0–3%) — This is local marketing spend with some market-level governance. Understand who decides the rate and how funds are allocated.
Separating them forces you to evaluate each component on its own merits. The royalty buys the system. The brand fund buys awareness. The co-op buys local demand. If any one of those is not delivering, you can identify which layer is underperforming.
Pressure-test against your revenue assumptions
Run your model at three revenue levels:
- Conservative: $400,000 (bottom-quartile proxy). Can you survive? Can you service debt on the initial investment of $425,250–$704,800?
- Base case: $640,486 (median). Is this livable in your market? Does it cover your opportunity cost?
- Upside: $1,000,000 (top-quartile proxy). What has to go right to get here? How many units in the system actually achieve this?
The FDD gives you the distribution. Use it. Do not anchor on the average ($672,488) without understanding where you are likely to land based on your market, your experience, and your capitalization.
The co-op advertising question
Ask every franchisee you speak with during validation:
- What is the current co-op rate in your market?
- Who controls how co-op funds are spent?
- What is the measurable return on co-op spending?
- Has the rate changed during your franchise term?
Co-op governance varies by market and by franchisor policy. A co-op that spends effectively on local digital acquisition is a different asset than one that funds yard signs and print ads. The rate matters less than the ROI.
Bottom Line
The 8% royalty number on School of Rock’s franchise summary page is accurate and incomplete. The actual fee ceiling is 14% of gross revenue — $94,148 per year at the franchised average, $89,668 at the median.
At bottom-quartile revenue, fees consume enough of the margin to push owner earnings below subsistence. At median revenue, earnings are modest. The fee structure only becomes comfortable above the system average — and the FDD does not disclose how many franchisees reach that level.
The competitive gap is real. Bach to Rock’s 10% maximum fee load saves a median-revenue franchisee roughly $25,600 per year, which represents nearly half of implied owner earnings under School of Rock’s maximum structure.
None of this means School of Rock is a bad investment. It means the fee stack is a larger drag on unit economics than the headline royalty rate suggests. Model at 14%. Validate against actual co-op rates. Evaluate every fee layer on its own ROI. And compare your total cost of being in the system — not just the royalty — against every alternative you are considering.
The franchisor discloses these numbers because the FTC requires it. Your job is to turn the disclosure into a decision.